BACK TO NEWS

Homeschooling ideas and free resources for families

07/04/20

Homeschooling ideas and free resources for families

There is a lot of uncertainty and anxiety out there right now, but there have also bee a few postive and its great to see people and organisations pulling together to get through this.

The news that all schools in the UK are to shut from Monday, for the foreseeable future, has been met with many companies and organisations offering learning resources for free.

Take a look at some of the websites and resources that people have been generously sharing. They are sur to help keep our youngsters interested and entertained.

Twinkl - https://www.twinkl.co.uk

This is more for printouts, and usually at a fee, but they are offering a month of free access to parents in the event of school closures. Use code UKTWINKLHELPS.

We are teachers - https://www.weareteachers.com/

30 educational Netflix shows 

Top Marks - https://www.topmarks.co.uk/

Interactive resources

The Body Coach - https://www.youtube.com/

Workouts to help burn off a little energy

World Books - https:/worldbooks.com

Free access to books for kids

Mo Willems - https://youtube.com/mo-willems

Illustrator Mo Willems Keeping kids entertained with You Tube Drawing sessions

Our Favourite Places, Instahttps://www.instagram.com/ourfaveplaces

Colouring Our Favourite Sheffield Places

Audible - https://stories.audible.com/

Free stories for children from Audible

Khan Academy - https://www.khanacademy.org

Especially useful for maths and computing for all ages but other subjects at Secondary level. Note this uses the U.S. grade system, but it's mostly common material.

Futurelearn  https://www.futurelearn.com

Free to access 100s of courses, only pay to upgrade if you need a certificate in your name (own account from age 14+ but younger learners can use a parent account).

Seneca - https://www.senecalearning.com

For those revising at GCSE or A level. Tons of free revision content. Paid access to higher level material.

Openlearn - https://www.open.edu/openlearn/

Free taster courses aimed at those considering Open University but everyone can access it. Adult level, but some e.g. nature and environment courses could well be of interest to young people.

Blockly - https://blockly.games

Learn computer programming skills - fun and free.

Scratch - https://scratch.mit.edu/explore/projects/games/

Creative computer programming

Ted Ed - https://ed.ted.com

All sorts of engaging educational videos

National Geographic Kids - https://www.natgeokids.com/uk/

Activities and quizzes for younger kids.

Duolingo - https://www.duolingo.com

Learn languages for free. Web or app.

Mystery Science - https://mysteryscience.com

Free science lessons

The Kids Should See This - https://thekidshouldseethis.com

Wide range of cool educational videos

Crash Course - https://thecrashcourse.com

YouTube videos on many subjects

Crash Course Kids - https://m.youtube.com/user/crashcoursekids

YouTube videos on many subjects for a younger audience

Crest Awards - https://www.crestawards.org

Science awards you can complete from home.

iDEA Awards - https://idea.org.uk

Digital enterprise award scheme you can complete online.

Paw Print Badges - https://www.pawprintbadges.co.uk

Free challenge packs and other downloads. Many activities can be completed indoors. Badges cost but are optional.

Tinkercad - https://www.tinkercad.com

All kinds of making.

Prodigy Maths - https://www.prodigygame.com

Is in U.S. grades, but good for U.K. Primary age.

Cbeebies Radio - https://www.bbc.co.uk/cbeebies/radio

Listening activities for the younger ones.

British Council - https://www.britishcouncil.org/school-resources/find

Resources for English language learning

Oxford Owl for Home - https://www.oxfordowl.co.uk/for-home/

Lots of free resources for Primary age

Big History Project - https://www.bighistoryproject.com/home

Aimed at Secondary age. Multidisciplinary activities.

Geography Games - https://world-geography-games.com/world.html

Geography gaming!

The Artful Parent - https://www.facebook.com/artfulparent/

Good, free art activities

Red Ted Art - https://www.redtedart.com

Easy arts and crafts for little ones

The Imagination Tree - https://theimaginationtree.com

Creative art and craft activities for the very youngest.

Toy Theater - https://toytheater.com/

Educational online games

D.K. Find Out - https://www.dkfindout.com/uk/

Activities and quizzes

BBC Learning - https://www.bbc.co.uk/learning/coursesearch/

This site is old and no longer updated and yet there's so much still available, from language learning to BBC Bitesize for revision. No T.V. licence required except for content on BBC iPlayer.

A massive thanks to everyone who has shared all these amazing resources.

Kids